Climate Change Working Group

(a sub-group of Argyll and Bute's CPP Management Committee)
Thursday 17th February 2022, 10:00 – 11:30

Attending:

Stan Philips, Operations Manager, NatureScot (Chair)

Angela Anderson, H&L ACPG representative and Plastic Free Helensburgh Laura Corbe, OLI ACPG representative and Oban Community Council

Theresa Correia, Scottish Enterprise

Leigh Fraser, Senior Policy Officer, Scottish Environment Protection Agency Lucinda Gray, Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Becky Hothersall, Community Development Officer (OLI), Argyll and Bute Council Jamie Joyce, Project Officer, Argyll Coast and Countryside Trust.

Alison McGrory, Health Improvement Principal, NHS Highland

Ross McLaughlin, Head of Commercial Services, Argyll and Bute Council

Rachel Pate, Scottish Government

Cathleen Russell, Chair of ColGlen Development Trust and Director of Scottish Rural Action

Apologies received:

Anne Horn, Councillor: Argyll and Bute Council (Kintyre and the Islands) and Chair, Argyll and Bute Windfarm and Renewables Trust

1. Welcome and apologies

Stan welcomed the group and introduced Barney Fryer, Loch Ken Trust Officer, and Iryna Zamuruieva, Climate Resilience Co-ordinator at SNIFFER/Adaptation Scotland (see Item 4).

Items 2. (Minutes of last meeting) and 3. (Funding) were carried over to the next meeting along with the action grid.

4. Climate Ready Ken session

Barney and Iryna shared their experiences of working together on the Climate Ready Ken project: one of two Scottish Government funded projects under SNIFFER's Climate Ready Locality Programme, in which Adaptation Scotland worked with localities to help their communities plan for increased resilience in the face of climate change. Summary notes from the session will be circulated.

In closing the meeting, Stan suggested that conversations be continued using Basecamp to facilitate progression of actions before the March meeting.

Date and time of next meeting: Thursday 17th March, 10:00-11:30.